Time on My Hands After My Retirement? Not Really.

housePeople sometimes believe that when you retire, you have time on your hands and you don’t have much to do. I don’t know about other retirees, but for me, that is so far from the truth. I have quite a lot of things to do to occupy my time.

What do I do with the time that I used to spend on work? A lot, actually. I have quite a few hobbies, and these include “window shopping” online. I have also taken to redecorating and renovating the rooms of our home. I feel that most of what we have is outdated, and we are in need of a major redo of our home. That is why I have started selling some of the old stuff that we have (and throwing some of them away as well) to make room for the new, and better items that I have bought for the house.

Redecorating the house is very therapeutic for me, and it brings out my creative side. I once envisioned myself as an interior designer when I was younger, but something veered off that path and into accounting instead. Now, I am rediscovering my love for patterns, lines, composition, and color combinations, and I am using my home as my palette for my creative juices.

The furnishings that I find myself gravitating towards include those that have an old-world feel to them, but have a modern twist. Button sofas and seats in bright, solid colors; patterned rugs; uniquely shaped coffee tables with built in book-shelves; even weirdly shaped ottomans. These are what I have been slowly buying for the house, and have been using to redo my rooms with.

Friends visited me a couple of weeks ago and just in time to see my newly redecorated living room. The oohs and ahs were enough to make me beam with pride. They then started asking me who my interior decorator was, and where I got my amazing furniture from. They also explored the rest of the house, which I have not yet gotten to fixing up yet, and asked why only the living room looked professionally altered.

I then told them my latest “hobby”, which was to redo my home room to room, and explained to them how I was once planning on becoming an interior decorator, but it never came to fruition. Well, long story short, I now have more things to do than I have time for. My friends are now asking me to assist them in doing the same thing for their homes. So, time on my hands? Nah.

Leave a Reply

